Sunday Kitchen Letter
Spoken
The Dragonfly.
0:00
-17:33

The Dragonfly.

Fleeting visits in the summerland soundtrack and a long-lost letter to the kid I never had.

I wanted to preface this episode with a content warning - the essay I am reading is called Dear Kid. I was reminded of it by a friend who has recently experienced a miscarriage and so I wanted to let you know, this essay speaks to the hope and possibility of parenthood, which for many is a longed-for state. I have experienced my own hopes and changing expectations over the years, so I offer this ahead of Mothers Day. Skip to the 10-min mark to go straight to the poems - two fresh-born pieces for you.

“I wake up on Mother’s Day, kid – and I’m thinking of you. If you don’t ever make it, it’s okay. I promise. Everything I’ve learned waiting for you, I needed to know anyway. But I wanted you to know, kid, that I’m your Mama through and through. Even the idea of you is a gift I’m glad of, a point in the compass that guides my way. I’ve been your mother my whole life.

Rest easy, kid. Maybe soon. Keep an eye on the stars and the moon – I watch them too, and I believe in magic.”

The poems are called Dragonfly and How to Write a Poem.

I chased Dragonfly down all summer and it finally arrived this week. How to Write a Poem showed herself soon after.

0 Comments
Sunday Kitchen Letter
Spoken
Essays, read aloud. With additional commentary, poetry and stories behind the essays of Tash McGill.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Tash McGill